Food
Leave a Comment

Winter Wellness: Juicing at Home

WINTER WELLNESS

Winter is not my particularly favourite time of the month. We tend to get run down and pick up viruses and colds more. But never fear the juice is here. I have been feeling under the weather lately, it seems all of the late nights and long hours at uni have caught up on me now that I can finally relax! After receiving fruit and veggies from friends going away and buying more produce than needed at the Sunday Markets it was time to take action!

I wasn’t going to cook a three-course meal to get rid of all the vegetables but I was going to blitz the extra produce into liquid goodness. Juice is packed full of vitamins and minerals. What better way to nourish my body than making fresh juice. I have the Breville Juice Fountain Plus – BJE410 it is fab for no hassle juicing. The chute can fit a whole apple in it and you don’t need to peel or core it, this magical machine does it all for you and gets the maximum juice and nutrients from anything you turn to liquid.

Nourish Juice:

Firstly I decided what I would put into my juice, I wanted enough for about 2 days so I could drink 1-2 glasses a day. The following ingredients I used for my juice were Celery, Ginger, Lemon, Mandarin, Green Apple, Carrots, Lacinato Kale and regular Kale.

Next I washed all of the produce that could have had chemicals sprayed onto them and any bugs hiding in the leafy greens. This is important as you are juicing the whole fruit so it is important to wash the fruit from any nasties that could be on the produce. I didn’t peel the carrots as i washed them and wanted all of the nutrients from the vegetables. I then started juicing all of the fruits and vegetables following the manufacturers speed guide in the manual in order to get maximum nutrients out of my produce. This is important as produce isn’t processed at the same speed. After I had made the juice I Had the left over pulpy stuff that gets separated from the liquid of the fruit e.g. the skins of the apples. I put this in my green bin as we have a compost system so not a part of the fruit was wasted essentially. Finally the finished product was consumed with a healthy side of apples and carrots with Pic’s Peanut Butter. Juice isn’t really an art each fruit has their own unique properties and nutrients so go juice crazy and experiment with different combinations and flavours. Happy juicing ! Rochelle 🙂
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Tell me what you think!

