Beauty, Design, Fashion
Leave a Comment

Karen Murrell Lipstick Review

Springs here and summers coming! So what better way to celebrate than with a beautiful bright lipstick from Karen Murell!
 <br></br>
These lipsticks come in a great range of colours I tried Coral Dawn perfect for my
olive skin, but still wonderfully pigmented for a pop of colour. It’s Suited to a variety of skin tones, porcelain, olive or chocolate brown and one application of Coral Dawn transforms lips to welcome the warmer months with sunshine-like brightness and head-turning happiness.  I have never used this brand before, but the designer in me is so in love with the beautiful packaging it’s very floral and feminine.
 <br></br>
KM 08 with packaging transparent
The lipstick finish I would describe as a Demi matte finish and the orange tones and the  demi matte- matte finish are currently a very in thing on the catwalks with the likes of Nanette Lepore, Donna Karan, Prabal Gurung, Rag & Bone, and DKNY using it in their recent 2014 shows. This will be an on trend colour its perfect for the warmer months as Karen Murrell creative director and lipstick queen says…

“I designed coral dawn to breath sunshine into the day … This colour makes me feel warm and sun-kissed”  we totally agree!! This lipstick took some learning to love and the reason why is because this lipstick brand is like no other. Karen Murrell lipsticks can be described as vegetarian lipsticks they aren’t tested on animals and have no animal based materials in them like other lipsticks. Instead of all the nasties  that other lipsticks contain, these lipsticks are packed with avocado oil for hydration and protection, evening primrose oil which is high in omega 6 essential for moisturising, carnauba wax so your lipstick doesn’t melt or perish and last but not least cinnamon to plump the lips.
For me this last ingredient could be described as a definite signature of the brand.  The lipstick has a definite scent of cinnamon it took me a while to get my head around, but it’s like smelling a beautiful  hot chai so delicious! The staying power of this lippy is on par with every other lipstick brand except that it’s so natural and has no nasties! My pup also loves it too she gives me extra smooches when I wear it! I have applied this a few ways but the best way to apply the brighter shades of the range is to press the colour in with your fingers as the heat fixes the pigment onto your lips. Also if you want a super matte finish add a translucent or similar colour powder on-top to lock and seal the colour. For an all natural no nasties lippy I am seriously impressed I’m not going to lie it is quite different from other brands I use but I am converted!  I can see this being a summer staple and it is so coming on summer holiday with me! I think it has made it up to my top 3 shades in my lipstick collection falling behind a nudey pink and my favourite red black lipstick ! Did I mention that love the price point to the RRP is $29.95. 
The Karen Murrell range has a great range of colours so if  the shade Coral Dawn isn’t for you I highly recommend checking the range out. It is stocked in  all good pharmacies and some health food stores or if your totally online savvy check the range out on Her  website www.karenmurrell.com
I would love to know your thoughts about this range, have you tried it and do you love it as much as I do?
Have a great afternoon
Rochelle x
Tell me what you think!

