Food, Life
Comments 12

#brunchclub Wellington Meetup February

The Blogging community in New Zealand is a tight knit community of girls and boys that help each other out, read each others blogs and share the bucket loads of knowledge about everything blog. So when I heard that there was a #brunchclub brunch scheduled to go down in Wellington I just knew I had to go. I scooped up a ticket and it came around fast by gosh I was so excited and nervous being the first on I had attended.

The venue was Loretta, the sister of the well-established famously brilliant Floridita’s. Loretta, located on Cuba Street is a great space for dining especially in large groups like ours. I have only ever been for breakfast or lunch by the way I would describe Loretta is unconventional, free range healthy dining with a rustic touch. I love Loretta because it is not your standard bacon, eggs and hash browns kind of joint. The menu is daring and interesting and it will take you a while to decide between all the great dishes. The staff that looked after us were so great and attentive, which is a credit to Loretta. The décor is a designers dream and I wanted to take every single pendant light home with me, not to mention the warm neutral palette that is used throughout.

I arrived and nervously squawked a “hi” and sat down awkwardly at the table with all of the other strangers I had only seen online. That feeling slipped away when I remembered we all had something in common and that we had probably all read each others blog at some point in time. As everyone else arrived and coffees started to flow we got talking, asking each other questions and a few business cards and details were exchanged.

We got to know each face behind the blog and even what we all did as day jobs that was really interesting. Brunch clubs are a good way of meeting new people outside of our regular circles, Rhiana from Death to Cardio happens to work at the same place as my flatmate proving that it’s a small world! As someone once told me, any networking opportunity is a good opportunity and it was great to finally meet up with some of the NZ bloggers and brunchclub members and discuss anything from blogging to beauty to boyfriends.

We melted away a couple of hours talking and laughing and it was great to see how brunchclub functions online and also physically as a group. I am so looking forward to the next one and hopefully it is somewhere equally as yummy. I ordered the most perfect homemade crumpets with passion fruit and lemon curd with cream and the most delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. I could have had about five OJ’s it was that delicious.

Overall I had a blast and it was a really great way to meet other bloggers and extend our networks. I was especially jealous of Larissa of The Leo Style looking totally fabulous at the brunch. That woman nows how to rock her clothes!

Counting down for next time Ladies!

Checkout these Gorgeous girls blogs :

Georgina

Larissa

Dani

Rhiana

Tallulah

Bridget

Hannah

Pip

Jenna

Auie

Morgan

Rochelle x

12 Comments

  1. That brunch club sounds like so much fun!! I also wanted to let you know that I really like your blog, and so I nominated you for a Liebster award 🙂 You can read more about it on my most recent post, and nominate some of your own blogs 🙂 Have a lovely day!!

  2. Pingback: eateries: loretta (plus brunch club meet up!) - dani pohlod

  3. Hi Rochelle

    Was great to meet you across the table on Saturday! Hope to get to chat with you more at the next #brunchclub.

    So glad I wasn’t the only one that was nervous coming along to my first one 🙂

    Your description of Loretta summed it up perfectly “…Loretta is unconventional, free range healthy dining with a rustic touch…”

    WCx

  4. It was really good to meet you at Brunch. Hopefully there’ll be another next month. You describe Lorettas so well. I don’t think I could do it justice after you.

  5. Pingback: Popping my #BrunchClub Cherry - The adventures of Jenjaroo

Tell me what you think!

